Core Faculty

Margaret Adams
Assistant Professor of Photography
mhadams68@gwu.edu

David Bjelajac
Professor of Art History and American Studies
202-994-7093
bjelajac@gwu.edu

Julia Brown
Assistant Professor of Painting
202-994-9067
jmbrown@gwu.edu

Georgia Deal
Professor of Printmaking
gld12@gwu.edu

Frank DiPerna
Professor of Photography and Photojournalism
fdiperna@gwu.edu

Alexander Dumbadze
Associate Professor of Art History
Program Head, Art History
dumbadze@gwu.edu

Janis Goodman
Professor of Fine Arts, Senior Thesis Coordinator
jgg5128@gwu.edu

Philip Jacks
Associate Professor of Art History
202-994-6914
pjacks@gwu.edu

Scott Jones
Assistant Professor of Interior Architecture, 
Corcoran Interior Design Advisor
scottjones@gwu.edu

Dean Kessmann
Associate Professor of Photography
Program Head, Studio Arts
202-994-6514
kessmann@gwu.edu

Joseph Kunkel
William Wilson Corcoran Visiting Professor of Community Engaged Practices
jospehkunkel@gwu.edu

Lisa Lipinski
Assistant Professor of Art History
llipinski@gwu.edu

Kerry McAleer-Keeler
Associate Professor of Art and Design
Director of Undergraduate Studies, Studio Arts
kmk@gwu.edu

Cristin McKnight Sethi
Assistant Professor of Art History
Director of Graduate Studies, Art History
202-994-8388
cristin@gwu.edu

Maria del Carmen Montoya
Assistant Professor of Sculpture and Spatial Practices
Director of Undergraduate Studies, Studio Arts
202-994-6008
carmen@gwu.edu

Mika Natif
Assistant Professor of Art History
Director of Undergraduate Studies, Art History
202-994-8548
mmn215@gwu.edu

Bibiana Obler
Associate Professor of Art History
202-994-4839
bobler@gwu.edu

Turker Ozdogan
Professor of Ceramics
202-994-6453
turkoz@gwu.edu

Justin Plakas
Visiting Assistant Professor of Fine Arts
plakas@gwu.edu

Siobhan Rigg
Special Assistant for Curriculum Integration
Associate Professor of New Media
srigg@gwu.edu

Lilien F. Robinson
Professor of Art History
202-994-7094
lfr@gwu.edu

Jennifer Sakai
Visiting Assistant Professor of Photography
jennifersakai@gwu.edu

Johan Severtson
Professor of Graphic Design
Program Head, Design
jsevertson@gwu.edu

James Sham
Assistant Professor of Innovation Arts
Director of Graduate Studies, Studio Arts
202-994-6089
mrsham@gwu.edu

Susan Sterner
Associate Professor of New Media Photojournalism
Program Head, New Media Photojournalism
ssterner@gwu.edu

Barbara von Barghahn
Professor of Art History
202-994-8653
bvb@gwu.edu